Larz Anderson Auto Museum
The idea for the Larz Anderson Auto Museum grew out of a Sunday tradition started by wealthy socialites Larz and Isabel Anderson at their Brookline, Massachusetts home. The Andersons would open the doors to The Carriage House on Sunday afternoons and share their mounting collection of marvelous American and European vehicles with the public
The Andersons’ collection began with the purchase of their first vehicle, an 1899 Winton 4-hp Runabout. Today this vehicle remains on permanent display in the Museum’s lower gallery. As their interest in the automobile grew, the Andersons continued to purchase and subsequently retire vehicles to the Carriage House all the way up until the passing of Isabel Anderson in 1948. The Andersons purchased an automobile nearly every year, acquiring a total of thirty-two brand new motorcars during the course of their lives. Fourteen of these vehicles and many of the Andersons’ original horse-drawn carriages remain in the Museum’s permanent collection.
After Isabel Anderson’s passing in 1948 the collection was entrusted, at Isabel’s bequest, to the Veteran Motor Car Club of America. The VMCCA then established the nonprofit organization that is now known as the Larz Anderson Auto Museum. Today, the Museum continues to preserve the enduring legacy of Larz and Isabel Anderson by featuring revolving annual exhibits, educational forums, an archive of early automotive material housed in the Joseph S. Freeman Research Library, and our ever-popular themed Lawn Events.
The Carriage House is on the National Register of Historic Places and considered a landmark within the community. The grounds of Larz Anderson Park include a romantic pond, acres of lush open space with walking paths throughout and an ice skating rink that is open to the public during the winter months. A visit to the Museum therefore includes not only an examination of historically significant automobiles, but also an enjoyment of the picturesque setting left by the Andersons.